A historical Nottinghamshire conference centre
As a Nottinghamshire conference centre, Basford Hall has 3 rooms for hire suitable for corporate business groups, conference, wedding receptions, birthday parties and special occasions. The Members Caledonian bar is also open 7 nights a week providing live entertainment 3 nights a week.
A brief history of Basford Hall Miners Welfare
It is believed that Basford Hall was built circa 1740 and was occupied by Robert Hall and his family who were farmers.The Hall family lived here until 1840 when the estate was bought by Thomas Webb Edge of Strelley Hall. Basford Hall remained in the Edge family for over 100 years. However they never lived there but leased it out.
The Hall was leased to Mr Thomas North who was a colliery entrepreneur who was looking for a mining investment in Nottinghamshire. He had located a coalfield and sunk Cinderhill pit.
After Thomas North experienced financial difficulties the Hall was then occupied by several mining managers from the Babbington Coal Co. In 1940 after remaining empty for 4 years Miss Mary Edge of Strelley Hall sold the property to R.B. Collieries for the use as a miners welfare. World World 2 stopped the alterations taking place to convert the building to a miners welfare but these did eventually take place.
In 1980 the club started to experience problems due to the closures of mines. In 1995 most of the land on the estate was sold to developers and is now a housing development. Basford Hall has now been fully restored to pristine condition and now functions as a business as well as a Miners Welfare and Social Club.